Raise Home Hell: Interview with Sleeper Agent’s Tony Smith

Screen grab from Sleeper Agent's video for 'Waves'
Screen grab from Sleeper Agent’s official video for About Last Night’s debut single ‘Waves’.

It’s been almost three years since Sleeper Agent burst on the scene with their raucous debut Celebrasion, a collection of fuzzy, fast-paced teenage rock anthems.

There’s no denying Sleeper Agent’s arrival. The band kicks off their first headlining tour tonight with a hometown show at the Warehouse at Mt. Victor at 9pm, supporting their sophomore album About Last Night, which dropped March 25. (Get tickets here: http://thewarehouseatmtvictor.com/). Bowling Green’s own Buffalo Rodeo and Knox Hamilton, an indie dance rock band from North Little Rock, Ark., will open.

The southern Kentucky six-piece returns with a more polished sound, a departure from the frenetic brand of garage pop that defined their first album, but they haven’t lost their penchant for sugary sweet melodies and infectious vocals, or the desire to raise some hell.

“You never saw me coming/Cause we never gonna die,” Smith mouths off on the opening track “Be Brave.”

 About Last Night documents the up and downs inherent to being a twenty-something.

“I think what I was going for was my experience with not only Alex, but just the rest of the band and being in my late 20’s,” Smith said. “Learning how to deal with life and love.”

I have a full profile of Sleeper Agent running in Tuesday’s (4/8) edition of the College Heights Herald. Here are some of my favorite tidbits from the interview.

 

On the stress of playing a hometown show:

“I’d say it’s incredibly stressful, it’s not my favorite thing to do, mainly because I look out, I see kids I grew up with and parents, lots of parents, maybe there’s a girl I treated poorly on a date one time, it’s a little more of a stress run. The reward is bigger too.  If we can do well in our hometown it will be talked about for months.”

 

On the Bowling Green music scene earning respect:

“Maybe Bowling Green feels a little shunned, we’re important too, we’ve got music and ideas and we’re gonna do it, ‘so fuck you’. That’s kind of the mentality.”

On Sleeper Agent headlining their first tour:

“Don’t really know what the experience will be like yet, I’ve been a support band my entire career. I’m a  little nauesous, but excited too. We don’t really know what to expect, we don’t know what the attendance is going to be like. We’re gonna go in and play a fucking killer show every night.”

 

Sleeper Agent plays a show at The End in Nashville, Tn. Sept. 13, 2011.
Sleeper Agent plays a show at The End in Nashville, Tn. Sept. 13, 2011.

 

Check out Sleeper Agent’s video for Waves

Leave a Reply

